Past Honorees

Every person or group of journalists and supporters of journalism below stands on the shoulders of all those who came before. Many have passed away, but we always remember their service to their readers, viewers and listeners in East Tennessee. They are an inspiration to journalists today.

Tom Siler, Knoxville News Sentinel sports editor

Escar Thompson, Associated Press, Knoxville bureau chief

Horace V. Wells Jr., editor & publisher, Clinton Courier-News

Glenn McNeil, executive director, Tennessee Press Association

Charlie Daniel, editorial cartoonist, Knoxville News Sentinel

Carson Brewer, columnist, Knoxville News Sentinel

Alex Haley, author of Roots and other works, resident of East Tennessee until his death

Carl Williams, news anchor, WBIR-TV

Tom Hill, publisher, The Oak Ridger

Kelly Leiter, professor and dean, University of Tennessee

Sammie Lynn Puett, professor and vice president, University of Tennessee

Wilma Dykeman, columnist, Knoxville News Sentinel

Carl Vines, Knoxville bureau chief, United Press International

Ben Byrd, sports editor, Knoxville Journal

Harry Moskos, editor, Knoxville News Sentinel

Heartland Series creators, WBIR-TV

Georgiana Vines, deputy managing editor, Knoxville News Sentinel

Bob Gray, news reporter, WATE-TV

Richard Smyser, editor, The Oak Ridger

Bill Williams, news anchor, WBIR-TV

Jack Kirkland, chief photographer, Knoxville News Sentinel

Bobby Denton, WIVK-FM radio personality and general manager

Ron McMahan, editor, Knoxville Journal

Jim Crook, professor and director, UT School of Journalism, “Father” of the Front Page Follies

Sam Venable, columnist, Knoxville News Sentinel

Jackie Brown, news writer, Knoxville News Sentinel

Tutt Bradford, publisher, Maryville Daily Times

Tom Chester, managing editor, Knoxville News Sentinel

David Haley Lauver, songwriter, speechwriter and humorist, chief writer of the Front Page Follies since its inception

Jack McElroy, editor, Knoxville News Sentinel and Richard Hollow, First Amendment attorney

2009 “The Jones Boys”– John M. Jones Jr., editor of the Greeneville Sun; Gregg K. Jones, co-publisher, the Greeneville Sun and president and CEO of Jones Media Inc.; Alex Jones, currently director of the Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy at Harvard University after a lengthy career in journalism

2010 Gene Patterson, news anchor, WATE-TV

2011 Jack Neely, author, historian and contributor to Metro Pulse

2012 Moxley Carmichael, former journalists and now principals of Moxley Carmichael Public Relations

2013 Bonnie Hufford, instructor, University of Tennessee School of Journalism and Electronic Media

2014 Robin Wilhoit, news anchor, WBIR-TV

2015 John Adams, sports columnist, Knoxville News Sentinel

2016 Jean Ash, news anchor and reporter, WIVK-FM